Pete Muller Wins POYi Reportage Photographer of the Year; Matt Gade Wins Sports Photographer of the Year

The surprise winner of POYi Sports Photographer of the Year is Matt Gade, a staff photographer at The Daily Republic in Mitchell, South Dakota. Getty photographers Donald Miralle and Christian Petersen won second and third place, respectively. Gade won for a portfolio that includes dramatic moments from games between local college and amateur teams, and a story (above) about South Dakota rodeos

World Press Photo 2017 Multimedia Contest Winners Announced | PDNPulse

Multimedia stories created by Zachary Canepari, The Washington Post, Justin Maxon and Jared Moossy have been honored in the World Press Photo 2017 Multimedia Contest. World Press announced the winners of their seventh annual Multimedia Contest on February 14. The competition honors multimedia projects in four categories: Immersive Storytelling, Innovative Storytelling, and Long- and Short Form.

The Winning Photos of Underwater Photographer of the Year 2017

The international Underwater Photographer of the Year photo contest has announced its winners for the 2017 edition. The winning photo (shown above) was by French photographer Gabriel Barathieu, who captured a “Dancing Octopus” in a lagoon on the island of Mayotte in the Indian Ocean.

World Press Photo 2017: The Best News Images

Clashes between police and activists also marked the Anti-DAPL protests, which saw riot police use rubber bullets, pepper spray and tasers to clear marchers from the Standing Rock site. Amber Bracken’s documentation of the struggle won First Prize in the Stories category. While Tomas Munita’s haunting portrayal of Cuba in mourning for Fidel Castro was another notable series that made this year’s News Shortlist.

The World’s Best Photo?

Still, the jurors were “quite split” on the award, said Stuart Franklin, the jury chairman and a member of the international photographic cooperative Magnum Photos, who did not vote for Mr. Ozbilici’s image. He said that it was difficult to say much about deliberations because of a nondisclosure agreement jurors signed. The image, he said, was a hard-hitting news photo that was “extraordinarily well taken” by a man who has “my total respect.” But Mr. Stuart worried about “amplifying a terrorist message in some way” by giving the photo the top prize.

World Press Photo: Photo of Assassination Wins Top Prize

Burhan Ozbilici’s photograph is intense and haunting. Shot in the seconds following the assassination of Andrey Karlov, Russia’s ambassador to Turkey, it shows the gunman, Mevlüt Mert Altıntaş, standing next to the lifeless body, with one hand pointing to the sky and the other still holding the gun. On his face, we can read his fury and determination, making Ozbilici’s photograph one of the most intense images of 2016.

The Winning Photos from DJI’s 2016 SkyPixel Photo Contest

DJI has announced the winning photos of its 2016 SkyPixel Photo Contest, which honors the best aerial and drone photos captured around the world using DJI camera drone equipment. The grand prize winner this year is the photo above, titled “Fishermen close the net” by Ge Zheng.

California Sunday Magazine Wins National Magazine Award for Photography

The California Sunday Magazine received the 2017 National Magazine Award for Photography in a ceremony held Tuesday in New York City. Pacific Standard took home the award for Feature Photography, which honored “Adrift,” a story about the refugee crisis shot by Francesco Zizola aboard search-and-rescue boats in the Mediterranean Sea.

The Year in Selfies 2016

For the third year in a row, we bring you an annual recap of selfies around the world. In this election year, “ballot” selfies and politician selfies were a dominant theme, and in a tragic non-surprise, the world saw an increase in selfie-related deaths. If the selfie represents the ultimate declaration of “pics or it didn’t happen,” here’s the proof that it’s “happening” in our crazy world.