join the photo community - The Click is edited by Trent

Photo of ‘Crying Girl on the Border’ Wins World Press Photo 2019

Getty Images photographer John Moore has won the prestigious World Press Photo Contest for 2019 for his photo titled “Crying Girl on the Border.” The photo was selected from among 78,801 submitted by 4,738 photographers.

World Press Photo Story of the Year nominee: The Migrant Caravan

The migrant caravan is part of a larger project called Love Stories, an exhibition and film project about the global refugee crisis where we have partnered with UNHCR Sweden. Nikon was also one of the partners in the development of the first stage of this project. There are many stages/chapters left in the whole Love Stories project and the exhibition is planned for 2021.

World Press Photo Story of the Year nominee: The Yemen Crisis

As a photographer, I have worked extensively in the Middle East and Central Asia. I lived in Kabul from 2010 to 2015 where I started my ongoing relationship with The Washington Post. In 2015, I moved to Beirut and now my work focuses on the consequences of the conflicts in the area.

2019 Guggenheim Fellowships Awarded to 12 Photographers | PDNPulse

Catherine Opie, Ron Jude, Jennifer Garza-Cuen and Barbara Davidson are among the 12 photographers named 2019 Guggenheim Fellows, according to an announcement from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. The fellowships provide grants of undisclosed amounts to support projects by artists, scholars, scientists and writers. The foundation selected 168 fellows this year from a pool of more than 3,000 applicants. This year’s fellows in photography are:

The Problem Isn’t the Photo Contest, It’s Us – PhotoShelter Blog

Eye-rolls, shrugs, and barbs greeted the $120,000 Grand Prize winner of Dubai’s HIPA Photography Prize. Malaysian photographer Edwin Ong’s photo of a partially blind Vietnamese woman carrying her baby was derided for representing yet another “poverty porn” contest winner before it was suggested that the image was staged by photographer Ab Rashid.

Announcing the 2019 James W. Foley Middle East Fellowship recipients | The GroundTruth Project – Announcing the 2019 James W. Foley Middle East Fellowship recipients – The GroundTruth Project

BOSTON — The GroundTruth Project is pleased to announce that, for the first time, the James W. Foley Middle East Fellowship will be awarded to two journalists who will collaborate to shine a light on under-covered expressions of life in the Middle East.

$120K HIPA Grand Prize Goes to Malaysian Photo Enthusiast Edwin Ong Wee Kee | PDNPulse

Edwin Ong Wee Kee woke $120,000 richer this morning after winning the Grand Prize for a single image at the 2019 Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum International Photography Awards (HIPA) on Wednesday, March 13. This is the eighth year HIPA has given the award.

Reuters relaunches photographers’ grant program in memory of colleague Yannis Behrakis | Reuters

The program, which Yannis led, seeks to recruit and develop a diverse new generation of young photojournalists, something he was incredibly passionate about. It will relaunch for the 2020 grants under Yannis’s name with increased grants of $8k available to recipients.

Magenta Foundation Flash Forward Jurors Withdraw in Protest of TD Bank Funding | PDNPulse

Four jurors for this year’s Magenta Foundation Flash Forward emerging photographer competition have withdrawn in protest of the competition’s major sponsor, TD Bank Group. TD is one of several financial institutions that have provided financing for the Dakota Access Pipeline, the $3.8 billion oil pipeline from North Dakota to Illinois that is the subject of ongoing protests by the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe and other indigenous people and their supporters. Three photography organizations, Authority Collective, Natives Photograph and Women Photograph, also wrote an open letter to the organization asking it to reconsider its funding from TD Bank. At issue is the disconnect between Flash Forward’s effort to promote indigenous photographers while accepting funding from a bank that is directly financing a project that harms indigenous communities.

The Best Photos From the 76th Pictures of the Year International – The New York Times

Fabio Bucciarelli was named Photographer of the Year and Jessica Phelps won Newspaper Photographer of the Year. The New York Times was cited for excellence in photo editing.

Winners of the 2019 Underwater Photographer of the Year Contest – The Atlantic

Organizers of the Underwater Photographer of the Year contest announced the winning photographers and images for this year, and the photographer Richard Barnden, from the U.K., was named Underwater Photographer of the Year 2019. More than 5,000 images were submitted by photographers from around the world. Prizes and commendations were handed out in categories including Wide Angle, Macro, Wrecks, Behavior, Portrait, Black and White, Compact, Up and Coming, and in British waters, Wide Angle, Living Together, Compact, and Macro Shots. UPY was once again kind enough to share some of this year’s honorees with us below, with captions written by the photographers.

The Film Photo Award | LENSCRATCH

I am so excited to announce the brand-spanking-new Film Photo Award and so honored to be the inaugural juror for this first round of calls for entry. The award was created by photographer Eliot Dudik who has been a long time large format film shooter and his practice has been quietly supported by Kodak Alaris, the company that distributes Kodak Professional Film. If you know Eliot, you have witnessed his desire to give back to his community and support photographers through exposure and exhibition, so it didn’t come as a surprise to me that he developed this remarkable award program for film photographers.

Close Menu